Posted by: Kirsten | Friday, 7 December 2007

Mount Rushmore Flag Ceremonies for Scouts

Flags at MORU
From the Mount Rushmore website…

If you are interested in having your scout troop participate in a flag lowering ceremony at Mount Rushmore National Memorial in the Black Hills of South Dakota:

  • contact the park via e-mail
  • call Ed Menard at (605)574-3137 (for 2008, call after January 8th),
  • or fill out an application and return to the park.

Mail to:  Ranger Ed Menard
13000 Hwy 244, Building 31, Suite 1
Keystone, SD 57751

Or, fax to Ed at 1-605-574-2307

Visit MORU...!

Responses

  1. Dear Ed,
    My daughter is a junior Girl Scout in Wisconsin.
    We have never taken a family vacation together with all three of us. My husband ,and I have been to South Dakota back in 1996. We thought it was beautiful then, and now our daughter would like to see Mount Rushmore as well. She is very interested in the history of the presidential monument.
    We have booked a family vacation in South Dakota for the Weekend of the 4th of July,and a tour bus to take us up to the spectacular fireworks display taking place on July 3,2009.
    Since we are going to be there at this time we were wondering if you are going to be having a raising,or lowering flag ceremony during that time for Girl Scouts? If you are, when and where would it be? Also, If we can fit it into our schedule, I would like to sign my daughter up for the ceremony. How do I go about filling out an application? Please get back to me with some
    information on the questions I have asked. Thank you for your cooperation.
    Sincerely,
    Darlene Thoma

    • Darlene,

      leaving your post here on my blog will not reach ranger Ed Menard. If I were you I’d contact the park via phone since Ranger Ed might not even be the one in charge of the flag raising ceremonies any more (I wrote that post back in 2007).

      The contact info is all listed in my original post. Sorry I can’t be of more help — we’re on a National Historical Park tour at the moment — in Rome, Italy!!!

      Ciao!


Leave a Reply

Categories

